Reviews

What people are saying about Wartling Place Country House




Wonderful Weekend - Rating 5/5

We would thoroughly recommend a stay at Wartling Place. This is our second visit and we will definitely be back again. The rooms are fabulous and luxurious and well equipped. The setting is idyllic. Excellent choice of menu for breakfast. Rowena was the perfect host providing us with everything we needed, local information on restaurants, taxis and even ice bucket and glasses. It was a perfect weekend break, we felt completely spoilt.

Reviewer:Mrs Kelly | Thu 29th Dec 2016


escape to the country - Rating 5/5

For our short break in East Sussex we looked for somewhere with character and we found it in Wartling Place. This former rectory with generous grounds, mature trees and shrubs proved to be restful and relaxing. Accomodation was spacious and comfortable with a period ambience plus all the necessary modern conveniences. The breakfast menu included a full English as well as fresh fruit, salmon, kippers, omelettes etc. Our host, Rowena gave us a warm reception and was always helpful. During our stay there were guests from Belgium and Thailand so news of Wartling Place\'s good reputation has been spread far and wide. A great escape to the country.

Reviewer:Mrs. YVONNE WINTERBOTTOM | Wed 21st Sep 2016


wedding party - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the cottage which is detached but beside the main building.Its lovely location and has a great pub opposite.The cottage is comfortable and clean with a pleasant court yard. The kitchen has everything you need. The breakfast we had was exceptional and the lady there has a great style.My only thought is that it is expensive at £200 per night and that does not include breakfast. Another party ( we were on a wedding) stayed at a 5 bedroom house, all ensuite, with 3 receptions for £300 per night so after we saw that it did conclude that this was an expensive option

Reviewer:Steven Markwell | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Truly Lovely in Every Way - Rating 5/5

Our week-long stay at Wartling Place was absolutely delightful.Our hostess was attentive to our needs and made us feel welcome and at home. Wartling Place is beautifully decorated and well-cared for.And the breakfasts, all individually made, were delicious!

Reviewer:Mrs Hernandez | Fri 2nd Sep 2016


Another lovely break at Wartling Place - Rating 5/5

This was my second visit and we stayed in the adjacent cottage with my elderly mother as she cannot manage stairs in the main house . The cottage is fantastically equipped and we were very comfortable in there altjough we chose to have our breakfasts in the main house . Rowena and her husband run this beautiful Sussex property and grounds almost single handedly and together create and idyllic retreat. Breakfasts were very tasty and where possible, using local produce .nothing was too much trouble and many helpful tips about what to do and where to eat in the area.We enjoyed the more personal touches and experiences in this upmarket B and B than in a similarly graded hotel. Highly recommended - go and try it yourself

Reviewer:Mrs Petch | Sat 20th Aug 2016


A lovely retreat - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay and Rowena did everything to make us feel welcome and to meet our needs. She was also helpful with regard to restaurant and taxi bookings. We would definitely recommend and return.

Reviewer:Anne Hone | Tue 9th Aug 2016


A wonderful retreat - Rating 5/5

We revisited this delightful country house hotel and felt really special. The grounds are most attractive and the rooms exquisitely furnished. Also enjoyed a delicious breakfast. We will certainly be returning.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Fidler | Fri 29th Jul 2016


Looks good but!! - Rating 3/5

Beautiful lawned gardens. Super pub, The Lamb Inn, over the road.( shut on Sunday night)The house had obviously been restored some years ago, curtain linings were fraying and blinds were fragile with no blackout facility.The duvet was heavy for high summer and no top sheet provided.The shower lacked power and without a thermostat, was either cold or extremely hot in short not fit for purpose.Cobwebs in corners and behind towel rail showed a lack of attention to detail.The breakfast was comprehensive, however soft fruit on morning 2 was bruised and mouldy in parts!Traffic noise woke us at 05.00 hours Sunday and Monday.The cost is high and should be reviewed in light of issues raised

Reviewer:Mr. David Caswell-Law | Tue 19th Jul 2016


Wartling Place Country House - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful three day stay in the cottage with our adult daughter.We had lovely breakfasts each morning at the main house.The location is beautiful.

Reviewer:Celia Hamblin | Tue 12th Jul 2016


Excellent!!!! - Rating 5/5

Excellent.We have visited twice and enjoyed relaxing accommodation. Incredible breakfast.Thanks a lot!!!

Reviewer:Mr Navarro | Mon 23rd Nov 2015


Delightful Stay - Rating 5/5

This is a great B&B with a comfortable four-poster. Exquisite furniture and a delicious cooked breakfast. The welcome from Rowena is really friendly. I would recommend it to anyone whole-heartedly

Reviewer:Mrs Maines | Fri 11th Sep 2015


Excellent Accomodation & Service - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome, luxury room as described.Excellent choice of fresh fruit, cereals and cooked breakfasts.Cooled bottled tap water available in fridge and newspapers in lounge.Liked the refectory style breakfast table. When visiting relatives again will definitely return.

Reviewer:Mr. C Cunningham | Tue 25th Aug 2015


A beautiful place to stay - Rating 5/5

Wartling place is set in beautiful gardens and is just as beautiful inside. Our room was spacious, furnished elegantly and spotlessly clean. Our host was welcoming and made us feel at home. The breakfast the next day was scrumptious and also provided an opportunity to meet other guests. I wouldn\'t hesitate to book again.

Reviewer:Alec Grieve | Sat 22nd Aug 2015


Our stay - Rating 5/5

A gracious house and a gracious host!

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Drummond | Thu 20th Aug 2015


June 2015 - Rating 5/5

We stayed for five nights and were looked after extremely well.We will be coming back as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Jones | Sun 5th Jul 2015


Visit to Wartling Place May 2015 - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a lovely break at Wartling Place, in May, on a trip to Eastbourne. The house is in a lovely quiet area, furnished with antiques and with many nice touches ( like the fridge, in the hall, for wine, beers etc);good quality bathroom products;towelling robe etc.Lovely breakfasts, with homemade preserves, taken in the dining room overlooking the garden. Excellent pub, opposite hotel, serving great food. Rowena very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return, again, for a relaxing break. Thank you.

Reviewer:Stephanie Jackson | Tue 19th May 2015


Gorgeous cottage in the grounds of the house - Rating 5/5

Two friends and I stayed for a week at the cottage and had a superb vacation.Rowena is the perfect host.Everything is comfortable,tasteful,and welcoming.The cottage and country house is an ideal location for exploring throughout Kent and Sussex. Or stay home for the day and enjoy the wonderful expansive gardens. Save yourself the bother of breakfast chores and do what we did.Indulge in breakfasts at the house prepared and cooked for you.It is served in a beautiful light specious room full of antiques.The house,cottage and grounds are charming. I\'m recommending Wartling Place Country House to friends and family alike.

Reviewer:Kennie Finch | Sun 17th May 2015


Wonderful place - Rating 5/5

Great value for money and very helpful hostess!

Reviewer:Ms Stahle | Sun 17th May 2015


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Ticked all the boxes for us. Stayed in the Cottage which is great for a family of 4. Conveniently placed to discover the area and go cycling (cuckoo trail). Our hosts were very helpful and friendlywith a good choice of breakfast to start the day. Would recommend it.

Reviewer:Michael Bennett | Mon 27th Apr 2015


Great place in the middle of no where - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely B and B and uis the pace to go if you really want to get away from it all. There are lovvely rooms and the breakfast is superb and if you want a cooked one there is plenty of choice and it is cooked to order too. Poached eggs were perfect and the toast was warm and freshly prepared too.

Reviewer:Jackie Hardie | Tue 7th Apr 2015


Superb - Rating 5/5

The best B and B I have ever stayed in, more like a boutique hotel. There is not a single downside to this wonderful place. The Pub opposite The Lamb is also great both for food and atmosphere.

Reviewer:Antonia Tingey | Mon 22nd Dec 2014


A great ambience and excellent attention to detail - Rating 5/5

The most perfect place for a family get together. We had a family wedding nearby and 8 of us stayed in the charming rooms which allowed us to enjoy high standards of decoration and attention to detail. We were very well looked after by Rowena, the owner, and her staff and would highly recommend Wartling Place to others.

Reviewer:Mrs Alison Vassiere | Sun 21st Dec 2014


Fabulous country house break - Rating 5/5

Wartling Place Country House Hotel is the perfect place for a country house style weekend break, which is exactly what my wife and I were after. The rambling house, set in lovely grounds, is full of charm, character and warmth (especially welcome in chilly November!). The owners are extremely charming, friendly and hospitable. The breakfast, which we ate in a gorgeous light filled room overlooking the garden, was plentiful and delicious.Just across the road is The Lamb, serving hand pulled local ales and delicious, top quality food in an authentically rustic setting.All in all, a great place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Porter | Mon 24th Nov 2014


Relaxed 3 day break in elegant surroundings - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed at Wartling Place.We particularly liked the big spacious bed and lovely soft sheets!!As before, all was spotlessly clean, the bath water hot and the free soaps etc actually useful !! The breakfasts were tasty, freshly cooked and filling.We also found the coffee/teamaking facilities and the landing fridge most useful. Also Rowena\'s recommendations of local eateries saved us much searching !!We will be back

Reviewer:Caroline North | Mon 24th Nov 2014


Review - Rating 4/5

Perfect for a few nights change of scenery. The Lamb Inn opposite the B&B is a must.

Reviewer:Mr. Ben Giles | Tue 7th Oct 2014


Relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay in the countryside but within easy reach of Eastbourne and other seaside towns. A beautiful house with a wonderful garden run by helpful hosts.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jeannette Stanton | Mon 6th Oct 2014


Relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm welcome, wonderful house, comfortable bedroom, beautiful part of Sussex and delicious breakfast. Definitely recommend the Lamb Inn opposite for evening meal.

Reviewer:Mrs. Claire Barber | Sun 28th Sep 2014


Very welcome - Rating 5/5

On arrival Rowena greeted us and showed us our room and the facilities available. We felt very welcome. The room was stunning and grounds were lovely too. We had a lovely evening meal in the pub over the road which was booked for us by the owner. Would highly recommend Wartling House!

Reviewer:Jason Rust | Sun 28th Sep 2014


Wartling Place - Rating 5/5

We had a delightful stay at Wartling Place. The room was very well appointed, spacious and luxurious. The breakfasts were freshly made and substantial enough to keep us going all day. And the grounds were a lovely place to sit and read. I'd highly recommend a visit.

Reviewer:Lisa Kozakis | Sat 6th Sep 2014


Wonderful weekend - Rating 5/5

What a beautiful place...we all had a lovely time despite the rain. Made to feel very welcome and my daughter loved the attention from Reg the dog. Will definitely be back again to further explore this part of Sussex.

Reviewer:Alison Tuck | Thu 28th Aug 2014


Relaxing Haven - Rating 5/5

Wartling Place was an idyllic place to stayto recharge the batteries. A peaceful quiet location with wonderful views of the village church from our room, and a good pub across the road. There was a really good choice of food for a very tasty breakfast, which took us through to early afternoon. Our room had a wonderfully comfy super king size bed with everything provided. The shared landing area was decorated with wonderful oriental furniture and a handy fridge filled with water and other drinks if needed. The breakfast room was a delight too. An ideal base for exploring The Seven Sisters, Birling Gap, Eastbourne etc.

Reviewer:Sarah Manual | Tue 29th Jul 2014


Wartling Lodge - Rating 5/5

We stay in the Lodge appartement and had a wonderful time. The house is wonderful and the garden is a dream. We will come back next year!

Reviewer:Melanie Funke | Tue 29th Jul 2014


Amazing - Rating 5/5

A very lovely place to stay with fantastic hospitality and food. Well worth the upgrade to the king poster bed room. I loved the gardens and rural setting, with pub next door.

Reviewer:Julian Green | Tue 29th Jul 2014


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay - exactly what it says on the tin in every way!

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison Chandler | Fri 18th Jul 2014


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

Peaceful, clean and a very friendly host. Especially enjoyed having breakfast in our room, overlooking the splendid gardens.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Bunclark | Thu 19th Jun 2014


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Wartling Place over the weekend of a family wedding.Both the double room and the cottage were extremely comfortable, the beds excellent and the breakfast brilliant.Thank you very much for adding to the enjoyment of our special weekend

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline Degen | Tue 17th Jun 2014


Wartling Place Review - Rating 5/5

Excellent as ever.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Harrison | Sun 15th Jun 2014


Wartling Place Country House - Rating 5/5

With its lovely bedroom excellent service and beautiful grounds this country house provided us with a wonderful opportunity to relax and enjoy ourselves

Reviewer:Malcolm Martin | Sat 31st May 2014


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Fantastic two nights stay iin this beautiful, peaceful hotel. Owners couldn't do enough for us and the breakfast was amazing.

Reviewer:Dionne Munn | Mon 26th May 2014


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great time returning for the 2nd time. Lovely accommodation and glorious grounds. Very friendly and couldn't help enough. Recommend this anytime. Rooms spacious and clean, very close to castle and short drive to Eastbourne. Fabulous!!

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs Nazim | Tue 15th Apr 2014


Great visit - Rating 5/5

Accommodation excellent, breakfast fantastic and proprietors great.

Reviewer:Richard & Susie Green | Fri 4th Apr 2014


5 star ***** - Rating 5/5

The best place I have stayed!!!!! Very friendly and comfortable. Good pub across the road couldn't ask for any more

Reviewer:Mr Downing | Sun 23rd Mar 2014


Country Oasis - Rating 5/5

Charming B&B in the countryside, beautifully decorated, keeping the feel of the Old Vicarage. Five guest rooms and a self-catering cottage, all set in rambling grounds with amazing views.Rowena and Barry, your hosts, can arrange and recommend anything youwant from places to see yo wonderful country pubs for dinner.We have been staying with them once, sometimes twice a year the last 10 years when visiting family in the area.

Reviewer:Jill Perkins | Tue 7th Jan 2014


A great welcome - Rating 5/5

A very relaxed and pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Colum Goodchild | Tue 31st Dec 2013


OUTSTANDING - Rating 5/5

I was lucky to happen upon Wartling Place 8 or so years ago and make a point to stay here whenever I am working in the area.Every time Rowena and Barry have exceeded all hopes and expectations and following my daughter's wedding last year I introduced my husband to the experience.The rooms are all large and well equipped and tastefully furnished to a high spec with quality bedding and a seating area;two of the bedrooms actually have fourposter beds with panoramic views of the delightful garden and countryside beyond.Rowena has a great eye for detail managing a very tight ship whilst remaining apparently very laid back and effortlessly in control and incredibly welcoming.The breakfasts are to die for, a great choice, cooked to perfection.There is a pub/restaurant just across the road so you can safely imbibe then stroll home, however, Rowena and Barry regularly check out local eateries so can confidently advise if you wish to go further afield.My most recent stay was in the 2 bedroomed cottage in the grounds, again beautifully furnished to a very high standard, you won't need to bring any of the accoutrements that I would usually pitch up to a self catering holiday with, like washing up liquid, tea towels, salt &pepper as Rowena's already thought of it!!

Reviewer:Brenda Bateman | Mon 28th Oct 2013


Thoroughly Relaxing - Rating 4/5

A great find, fabulously situated and well appointed.Really made to feel very welcome.Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Michael Doffman | Tue 8th Oct 2013


Gracious living in a peaceful spot - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay in an elegant former vicarage.Rowena is a very attentive hostess with an eye for detail.Our room was stylishly furnished in muted tones and, more importantly,t he mattress was excellent.Breakfast was served at a beautifully appointed dining table where you really felt like a house-guest.Wartling Place is very well situated for either East or West Sussex attractions. A lovely spot.

Reviewer:Mrs Burman | Sun 22nd Sep 2013


Country Retreat - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely 3 night stay at this friendly country retreat. Good position for exploring this area of Sussex. Great breakfasts.John &Jean Wade 20/9/2013

Reviewer:Mr. John Wade | Sat 21st Sep 2013


Relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

I booked Wartling Place as part of a birthday present for husband. It was everything I'd hoped for and more. The room was lovely, although with the window open, the road, although not busy, could be a bit noisy. The house had a lovely, welcoming feel. Rowena was the perfect hostess, even contacting a local pub to book an evening meal for us. Breakfast was plentiful, freshly cooked and set us up for the day. The one thing missing from the room, in my opinion, was hot chocolate on the tea tray, but this is a minor thing in an otherwise perfect weekend. We hope to pay a return visit in the not too distant future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Hamilton | Thu 19th Sep 2013


A little Gem - Rating 5/5

Stayed for three nights in the cottage next door to the main house. it was beautifully presented and maintained and equipped with everything required.I elected to stay in the cottage as my mother is disabled and cannot manage stairs.Rowena, the owner could not have been more helpful as was a mine of information about the local area, where to eat and where access was easy for my mother.As for the breakfasts :- only one word .....DELICIOUS. The grounds of Wartling place were beautiful and superbly maintained by rowena's husband.The cottage would easily accommodate four and is ideal for families as well as a small group of adults.The position of Wartling place was ideal within easy reach of much of the areas attractions.

Reviewer:Ms S Petch | Tue 10th Sep 2013


Lovely break near to London - Rating 4/5

My wife and I went for a 2 night break and loved the place.The breakfast was superb, the room beautiful and the grounds also really nice.I would definitely come again.

Reviewer:Ed Kirk Wilson | Mon 2nd Sep 2013


Just perfect! - Rating 5/5

From the phone call received during the afternoon before our arrival to see when we would arrive and whether we would like a booking at the restaurant over the road (brilliant place!) to our final good-byes we could not have been made to feel more special.The building and grounds are lovely, room was fantastic and breakfast as good as you can get!!Rowena has got it all just right. We will be back!

Reviewer:Mr Guy Humphreys | Sat 31st Aug 2013


Beautiful and welcoming - Rating 5/5

We had a very comfortable room, delicious breakfasts, and a friendly hostess.The bonus was the restaurant across the street also had delicious food.

Reviewer:Mr. David Christensen | Thu 22nd Aug 2013


A Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the two bedroomed cottage, it was lovely, very comfortable and had everything we needed. We were very impressed and would highly recommend staying there.

Reviewer:Lynn Pasqua | Wed 21st Aug 2013


Great Honeymoon Retreat - Rating 5/5

After getting married recently my wife and I stayed at the wartling as the start to our honeymoon. It was the perfect place to unwind away from it all. Our host walked the fine line between familiarity and professional care, with the upmost ease. The Wartling was full of character and we could see the care and attention to detail that has been lavished on her, and also the great sense of style that was abundant. can but only offer our warmest thanks and whole heartedly recommend the wartling Place

Reviewer:Mr Wells | Mon 12th Aug 2013


Wartling stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent location and friendly hosts. Peaceful setting in lovely grounds. Very good breakfast . A little bit of road noise but due to traffic diversion although very quiet overnight.

Reviewer:Mr Rogers | Fri 2nd Aug 2013


Weekend Stay 26th/ 27thJuly - Rating 5/5

Thankyou for a really enjoyable weekend we thoroughly enjoyed it and I am sure we will be back. We thought the accomodation was excellent a good sized room, very clean.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Pope | Tue 30th Jul 2013


Lovely stay at a lovely house - Rating 5/5

The house was lovely, but we booked the annexe/cottage. It was delightful. It was very well decorated, with a homely atmosphere. We booked breakfast in the main house, and the breakfast wasdelicious with a wide choice of items. The staff were warm and helpful, without being intrusive.The gardens were gorgeous, with one group of guests having a nice picnic, on the spacious lawns, shaded by the willow trees.All in all, a delightful experience.

Reviewer:Tony Pressley party | Wed 17th Jul 2013


Lovely! - Rating 5/5

A beautiful home and warm welcome, with good food at the Lamb Inn opposite. We will return!

Reviewer:Ms Mann | Tue 2nd Jul 2013


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

Thank you, Rowena, for making my stay so comfortable and easy.So many little touches that made everything relaxing and perfect!I'm already missing your wonderful breakfasts;porridge hasn't held the same appeal since I got home!!

Reviewer:Ms Livingstone | Sat 29th Jun 2013


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

A wonderful experience throughout.

Reviewer:Mr. Geoffrey Bignell | Wed 26th Jun 2013


What a fantastic B & B! - Rating 5/5

Greeted by Rowena – a lovely welcoming host - super decor - immaculately clean - delicious food.Breakfast was beautifully presented and incredibly delicious. We had the egg muffins and mushrooms – both amazingly good – the homemade bread was also a real treat. It was everything you would wish for in a B&B but very rarely find. Rowena made us very comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the cottage in the beautiful grounds which was very well equipped and comfortable. Wish we could have stayed for longer.

Reviewer:Marion Javis | Sun 16th Jun 2013


COUNTRY OASIS - Rating 5/5

Visiting family twice a year for the past 10 plus years, finding Wartling Place Country House Hotel 10 years ago gave us a wonderful time in the English countryside.The owners, Rowena and Barry, are wonderful hosts, proviing cosy, en-suite rooms with views, wonderful breakfasts, all set in beautiful grounds.Rowena will help with dinner reservations and travelinformation.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Perkins | Thu 13th Jun 2013


Relaxation Heaven - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely 2 night stay in a superb room with those 'little' touches that make a difference, comfy bed and yummy breakfast, thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs Frost | Wed 29th May 2013


luxury weekend - Rating 5/5

Head to Wartling Place for a warm welcome, extremely comfortable rooms and a great breakfast - all set in an old rectory beautifully maintained and furnished with a wonderful variety of pictures and furniture - and then go out and explore the Sussex countryside.

Reviewer:Mr MacArthur | Mon 20th May 2013


A real luxury B&B - Rating 5/5

My Partner and I had a lovely stay. We were made to feel more than welcome and the house and rooms are beautiful, breakfast was super as well. The only issue was, we were only staying the one night.

Reviewer:Miss. Stephanie Sykes | Thu 9th May 2013


Outstanding as always - Rating 5/5

As a lone female travelling all over the country for work it has been heaven to stumble on such a gem.All the rooms are large, light and spacious and beautifully decorated;quality bedding, quality bath accessories, free wifi.As you might expect, the breakfast choices are excellent and well presented.This is my preferred place to stay when working in Kent and Sussex.As great hosts Rowena and Barry keep themselves fully up to date with what is going on in the local area in order to advise their guests.Truly outstanding and well deserving of their AA/RAC rating

Reviewer:Mrs Brenda Bateman | Fri 18th Jan 2013


A Tranquil Haven - Rating 5/5

We booked a last minute, post-Christmas break to revitalise ourselves before returning to work. We were looking for peace, quiet and comfortable, well-appointed rooms;we got all this and more. Rowena is a unobtrusive but welcoming hostess with an excellent knowledge of the locality. The room was beautiful and clean with, in our case a lovely outlook of the church. We will definitely return in the Spring or Summer to get the full benefit of the walking and surrounding countryside. The breakfast is delicious with plenty of choice and fresh ingredients, including on our last morning, freshly baked croissants from the local Italian baker.Thoroughly recommend - although reluctantly as we don't want there to be no room next time we want to stay!!

Reviewer:Ms Howes | Sun 6th Jan 2013


A short break - Rating 5/5

We felt we needed a break for a couple of days, not far from home but away from the telephone and people just calling,or endless things to do.Wartling Place suited us admirably.There was a very warm welcome and the freedom to come and go as we pleased.The room was warm and cosy and the breakfast delicious.We went for walks but mainly stayed in the comfortable sitting room and played cards or read.There were good pubs locally for our evening meals.We left refreshed and ready again to face the Christmas rush.Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Crawshaw | Thu 13th Dec 2012


Sumptous style and substance - Rating 5/5

A simply superb B &B re location, welcome, facilities, style and comfort. Sumptous furnishings, delicious food, gorgeous gardens made it a struggle to actually leave the room! I may escape there again soon!

Reviewer:Allyson Tohme | Tue 20th Nov 2012


Flawless - Rating 5/5

Everything a country house should be - large, comfortable room with a large comfortable bed, good bathroom, cosy towelling robes and an excellent night's sleep followed by the best breakfast (with a very wide choice) I've had in a long time.This is how it should be done!

Reviewer:Brian Ferris | Mon 5th Nov 2012


A haven of tranquility - Rating 5/5

Superb Accommodation,incredible service, Rowena is a treasure.

Reviewer:John Knight | Thu 1st Nov 2012


Wartling PlaceCountry House - Rating 5/5

Stayed 3 nights. Wonderful country manor. Comfortable and top quality linens, etc. Breakfast made to order and served in a lovely dining room. Owner has great tips on what to see and where to eat. Perfect pub across street from Inn. Only guests first 2 nights. Would highly recommend and will return!

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Jefford | Mon 22nd Oct 2012


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay at Wartling Place and have to say it lived up to the same fabulous stay we had the first time. Rowena made us very welcome and her knowledge of the local area both for visting and dining out was 1st class. Nothing is to much trouble. We will return !!!!

Reviewer:Pamela Lacey | Fri 19th Oct 2012


Beautiful hotel - Rating 5/5

At last i've found a little gem of a hotel,nestled in the charming E.Sussex coutryside.A beautiful Georgian residence filled with light and space.From the warm greeting on arrival to the cheery morning banter at breakfast ,which was quite delicious and the "Piece de resistance"the best nights sleep ever and it was so quiet !! Such a cosy and beautifully decorated room,it was truly memourable and what i can only describe as a real "coming home"experience Thank you so much Rowena I'll bring my slippers next time!

Reviewer:Linda Browne | Fri 7th Sep 2012


Short break - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Wartling place as we were attending a wedding in the area. the hosts were most welcoming and, looked after our every need. The room was second to none and, the breakfast was most excellent. all in all a wonderfull weekend stay and, we shall definately be returning in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Leighton Lucas | Tue 4th Sep 2012


Relaxing and beautiful - Rating 5/5

Very relaxing and beautiful stay... The room was wonderful and the grounds are beautiful and expansive. Breakfast was always enjoyable and fresh. The host is extremely gracious and very knowledgable about the area. We had a great stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Scott Knick | Wed 29th Aug 2012


Nice cottage - Rating 4/5

Very nice cottage in beautiful garden!

Reviewer:Bart & Clary Wiarda | Sun 26th Aug 2012


Geat - Rating 4/5

A wunderful place.The house is beautiful and very clean.

Reviewer:Claudia Mosch | Sat 25th Aug 2012


Anniversary visit! - Rating 4/5

A very pleasant stay in wonderful surroundings. Hope to visit again!

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Le Vesconte | Fri 24th Aug 2012


Lovely Country Break - Rating 5/5

A relaxing place to visit. We were very well looked after by the hostess, Rowena, who washelpful and sensitive to our needs. The delicious breakfast had a wide variety of options to choose from. Our first visit to this lovely hotel more than met our expectations.

Reviewer:Ms Angela Moon | Sat 18th Aug 2012


Best Short Break - Rating 5/5

Excellent venue for a short break.Very comfortable and the owners are extremely helpful in booking places for evening meals etc.Best for a stress free break to get away from it all.

Reviewer:Mr Richardson | Tue 14th Aug 2012


great- Rating 5/5

Great weekend and a lovley place to stay ,food and room was the best we have stayed in .We have just recomended it to our friends.

Reviewer:Mr Wright | Tue 14th Aug 2012


A real pleasure! - Rating 5/5

We will most definitely return to Wartling Place, we had a most enjoyable and comfortable stay and the location for our event at Herstmonceaux Castle was ideal. Our only dissapointment was that we couldn't stay longer.

Reviewer:Julia | Mon 13th Aug 2012


Just Beautiful - Rating 5/5

We spent an enjoyable weekend at Wartling Place. The house is beautiful very tastefully decorated to a very high standard, very relaxing atmosphere and peacful setting. The garden is so pretty with many beautiful trees. Super location with an interesting pub 'The Lamb' opposite which was a bonus. Rowena was very helpful with her local knowledge and tips on places to visit and to eat, very friendly and hospitable. We will definately look forward to going back. Rowena obviously works extremely hard to achieve this level of luxury... Wartling house is one of the best we have had the pleasure to stay at.

Reviewer:Mrs Rossiter | Tue 7th Aug 2012


Beautiful surroundings and excellent hospitality - Rating 5/5

We had such a lovely time at Wartling Place - the rooms were comfy, breakfast was good and the best bit was how welcoming Rowena and her family were. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Reilly | Sat 28th Jul 2012


Wartling Place - Rating 5/5

As always we had a most enjoyable stay with Rowena and Barry. It is a beautiful and elegant place to stay and our every need is catered for. We have been enjoying this luxury for the past 12 years and will most definitely be there again next year.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Sharp | Sat 14th Jul 2012


Self Catering Apartment - Rating 4/5

A very enjoyable stay with my wife and young family at this comfortable self catering apartment. The apartment was right next to the main house in beautiful maintained gardens. All facilities were provided. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Kevin Phillips | Wed 11th Jul 2012


Wartling Place Review - Rating 5/5

Since 2008 my husband and I have spent a holiday at Wartling Place and keep returning simply because it is a peaceful and quiet place to relax safe in the care of Rowena and Barrie, who make our stay special.The accomodation is luxurious with excellent food and service. We are truly made to feel part of the family.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Douglas | Sat 30th Jun 2012


Stunning - Rating 5/5

We have been returning to Wartling for several years now. As always, the visit was wonderful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, Rowena is always welcoming and the surroundings are perfect. We cannot recommend a stay here highly enough!

Reviewer:Mark New | Fri 22nd Jun 2012


Peaceful retreat - Rating 4/5

Although we only stayed for one night we thoroughly enjoyed the quality of service offered in this beautifully appointed accomodation.Our room was spacious, well equipped and very comfortable and the "full English"provided a robust start to the day ahead.Highly Recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Arthurs | Fri 15th Jun 2012


Great luxury b and b - Rating 5/5

We have just spent a brilliant weekend here with some friends for our 30th wedding anniversary.Rowena kindly booked restaurants for us on both evenings, great food.The local pub really friendly, look forward to a revisit when the chef has arrived.Fantastic grounds, views and the bedrooms and breakfast were first class, thank you once again

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Williams | Wed 6th Jun 2012


A perfect escape - Rating 5/5

I happened upon this place after trying to book a few other B&Bs in Sussex first. I'm delighted to say that all the others were fully booked as it meant my future wife and I got to enjoy 2 nights of Rowena's impecable hospitality. B&B doesn't really do it justice, whilst small hotel is too impersonal. Imagine you have a long lost but delightful relation to stay with and you might be close to picturing the warmth of the reception you're likely to receive. Pedants might find minor niggles to mention (no the shower isn't the most powerful and yes the occasional passing car can be heard) but nothing detracts from the overall joy of being able to call Wartling Place 'home' for a couple of nights. Certainly not the cheapest but definitely the best value accomodation I've enjoyed in a while... 100% recommended.

Reviewer:Mark Wakem | Wed 30th May 2012


A wonderful retreat!- Rating 5/5

We needed an overnight stay in the area, and found Wartling House had many favourable reviews already on the internet.We weren't disappointed, it was a beautiful country house in a tiny village with lovely pub opposite. The room was perfect and the breakfast was excellent, as were the facilities.We will be back!

Reviewer:Mrs Mcintye | Fri 2nd Mar 2012


Perfect Mini-Break - Rating 5/5

The cottage in the grounds was perfect for us and our two children, very comfortable and well equiped.Excellent breakfasts and kind and helpful advice from our hostess. Beautiful main house and gardens.Exactly what we had hoped for. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Philippa Mair | Wed 29th Feb 2012


Excellent retreat - Rating 5/5

We have now stayed at Wartling Place on three occasions and have found the accommodation, facilities and breakfast to be excellent. Wartling Place enjoys a secluded location in its own attractive grounds, and we have always received a warm, helpful welcome. We would recommend Wartling Place to those seeking a comfortable stay in the East Sussex countryside.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Page | Sat 31st Dec 2011


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

A beautiful home, with lovely finishing touches. Breakfast was a decadent affair with the finest produce! Rowena is very warm and friendly and keen to offer local advice. A glorious part of the world with as much or as little as you decide to do.

Reviewer:Mrs Cole | Mon 3rd Oct 2011


Wartling Place - Rating 5/5

Stunning interior, very attentive staff, love the idea that you can buy a bottle of wine out of the fridge and pay when you leave, loved the breakfasts.Excellent peaceful, tranquil place and a pub for good food just across the road.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Halls | Mon 3rd Oct 2011


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Lovely, peaceful and beautiful place.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Massey | Tue 27th Sep 2011


Wartling Place Cottage - Rating 5/5

My husband, two teenage daughters and I greatly enjoyed our stay in the Wartling Place Cottage September 5-7th, 2011.Rowena was extremely helpful in the numerous emails we had in advance regarding all details of our stay, including many that were not directly related to our stay with her, such as dinner reservations and taxi bookings.She went above and beyond to make our stay in East Sussex comfortable and enjoyable.The cottage itself was lovely.Two very comfortable bedrooms, a well appointed kitchen, a good sized bathroom (by English standards), and a very cozy living room to relax and watch movies when it was too rainy and windy to explore the area.Breakfasts in the inn were fantastic.Loads of options to choose from on the menu, each one cooked to perfection.If we ever have the privilege of visiting this area again, we will certainly stay at Wartling Place!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharon Doran | Thu 8th Sep 2011


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

I had a very enjoyable one-night stay here in the beautifully pleaceful surrounding.The bedroom was large, beautifully decorated, clean and airy and the bed wonderfully comfortable, with good pillows - a rarity in hotels!The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Miss. Sue Wenborn | Sun 4th Sep 2011


We loved this hotel!! - Rating 5/5

We had an absolutely fantastic time staying in the Lodge at Wartling Place. The owners couldn't have done more to make our visit here any better. The setting is beautiful and we took advantage of the gorgeous gardens. Would definitely recommend to others and hope to visit again. Thank you to the owners for their hospitality!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Roya Davies | Mon 22nd Aug 2011


M. Bradley - Rating 5/5

The accomodation was first class and Rowena extends a very warm &friendly welcome and makes sure you have a comfortable stay.Highly recommended

Reviewer:Mr. Malcolm Bradley | Wed 10th Aug 2011


A perfect weekend - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome and fantastic hospitality from Rowena helped to make a perfect weekend in a sumptuous country house. We both can't wait to stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Stryzyk | Tue 2nd Aug 2011


Classy and calming - Rating 5/5

For many years we have always stayed at Wartling Place when visiting family in Eastbourned. It is such a tranquil house, tastefully and elegantly decorated, with every amenity, breakfasts to die for, and Rowena, the unflappable, welcoming host.

Reviewer:Tom Stevenson | Mon 18th Jul 2011


Second trip - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely second stay at Wartling Place, and found everything as immaculate as ever with attentive and thoughtful service. The rooms are lovely and there every need is catered for at the delicious breakfast served around one large table in a delightful window bay overlooking the garden.

Reviewer:Mr Smart | Mon 11th Jul 2011


Welcoming and relaxing - Rating 5/5

Wartling Place is a lovely house set in a beautiful location. We were given a warm welcome by the owner, Rowena. Our room was very comfortable. It was an ideal base for our visit to sussex and I anticipate staying there again when we are next in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Phil Bull | Sat 9th Jul 2011


Do go to visit - Rating 5/5

Wonderful house and lovely setting. Very comfortable and a delight to stay in.

Reviewer:Mr Carl Dengel | Wed 22nd Jun 2011


What a find - Rating 5/5

An absolutely wonderful place to stay, room was excellent;grounds perfect and service second to none. Would certainly recommend to friends, and will be back.

Reviewer:Peter Stamps | Wed 22nd Jun 2011


As good as home - Rating 5/5

All that should be expected, plus a most welcome personal touch.

Reviewer:Mr. Malcolm Bishop | Tue 21st Jun 2011


great find - Rating 5/5

jst got back from this B&B,great place quiet but close to lots of places to see. we stayed in cottage,but still had breakfast in main house freshly cooked to order,rowena,barry great hosts, we stayed two nights,

Reviewer:Kate & Dennis Crisp | Sun 19th Jun 2011


A Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay with some friends over two days. The location is beautiful with every care being taken to ensure the stay is perfect. Rooms and home of a very high standard and breakfast is excellent with lots of local produce to choose from. Hospitality was welcoming as always nothing appears to be too much trouble. We will be back soon - Mike and Karen Smith

Reviewer:Karen Smith| Mon 13th Jun 2011


lovely bed and breakfast! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights and had a lovely room, roses unther the window..how romantic! The food at the pub was exellent...thank you for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Cramer | Fri 10th Jun 2011


Friendly & Wecoming - Rating 5/5

A really enjoyable stay - great room and a friendly and welcoming place to stay.Varied breakfasts beautifully cooked and presented and a fantastic breakfast table.

Reviewer:Mr Miller | Wed 8th Jun 2011


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay at WPCHH enjoying the lovely ambianceand great food.Wanted for nothing except a more powerful shower.

Reviewer:MrPeter Hallworth | Tue 7th Jun 2011


We'll be back! - Rating 5/5

A wonderful place in the country.Rowena and Barry are great hosts and a mine of information about places to visit and wonderful country pubs and restaurants.We visit family in the U.K. twice a year and have been enjoying Wartling's hospitality and lovely rooms for the last 7or 8 years.

Reviewer:Perkins | Sat 7th May 2011


Excellent - what can you say - Rating 5/5

This is an excellent B&B. The room was perfect, the location is peaceful, the breakfast was first class.I will be making this my first choice whenever I am working in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Duncan Baxter | Wed 13th Apr 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Self Catering
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Breakfast In Room
  • Wifi
  • Horse Riding
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat